muslimah · Muslimah hurdles

You never know who’s looking up to you…

بِسْمِ اللَّهِ الرَّحْمَنِ الرَّحِيم

Salam alaykum warahmatullah,

So this was meant to go up on Friday… but work got in the way… lol.. I have two stories to share about 2 different Juma’a.

  1. A few Fridays ago, I was driving to the mosque for Juma’a and running late as usual (God help me). The mosque I was going to is on the other side of the road. There’s an opening in the street about a minute drive before the entrance of the mosque entrance and another further down – about 3-5 minutes. So ideally, you should go turna417a131157f78e1259d273fdffdf952 at the opening after your destination. Like I said, I was running late, so I did the ‘sharp’ thing and took the first turn to ‘gain a few minutes’. Note this meant I was facing oncoming traffic on the wrong side of the road… well.. I figured it’s just a 30sec – 1min drive and I was saving at least 5-7mins. Cool yeah? Nope! Why? Because just as I made that turn, another car followed and then another and I looked at myself and thought wow… you should be ashamed of yourself.
  2. Last Friday, I walked out of the office (a little earlier – Alhamdulillah) and walked to my car. As I got in to pull out, a sister came up to me and said Salaam, I replied and she mentioned she wasn’t familiar with the area and she was actually trailing me because she thought I was going for Juma’a. So I explained that I was going and told her the available options and we went to one of the places nearby. We had fun, met some of my colleagues and blah de blah…. . So this is it…. Typically when you hear the word dawah, you think of Imams, Sheikhs, Scholars etc calling people to Islam, but the literal meaning of the word is the act of calling or inviting people. So you can be inviting to good or bad – positive and negative dawah if you may. Obviously I don’t need to spell out which of the stories fall where. *covers face* 

So I got thinking, we really have to be careful what we do especially as we are ambassadors and representatives of Islam. In the first story, the car that followed me was also going to the mosque! So I basically encouraged someone to do the wrong thing indirectly without even saying a word. Whereas, in the second story, the lady who didn’t know me from Adam followed me without knowing for sure where I was going just based on the assumption that I was  going to the mosque because looking at me, she saw a Muslimah. Hmmm…. This is such a huge responsibility. I wonder how many other people have done one thing or the other because they saw me doing it or because I ‘endorsed’ it in passing without even realising. 

Abu Mas’ud ‘Uqbah bin ‘Amr Al-Ansari Al-Badri (May Allah be pleased with him) reported: Messenger of Allah (SAW) said, “Whoever guides someone to virtue will be rewarded equivalent to him who practices that good action”

In essence, whoever calls someone to a bad deed will also earn from its reward. Lord help us! How many sins have we accumulated without even realising? 122The interesting thing is this happens in every aspect of our lives. Think about your younger ones. How they look up to you. Think about your kids (may Allah grant us all children that will be the coolness of our eyes, Amin). Allahu Akbar! Watch how kids pick up little things; when we pray, they do their version, they pick up words we speak, they are like sponges. And they learn so fast it’s scary; especially in this generation. May Allah guide us and help us raise them; Amin.

Basically, my rant today is just on one point – you never know who is watching and taking after your footsteps; be it your kids, people in the neighbourhood, people with little understanding of Islam and you’re their primary link to Islamic teachings.

There’s another aspect as well. It’s not just about people looking to you for direction and guidance. There are also people who are Islam antagonists who are just looking for the mistakes you make so they can have something negative to say about Islam. This is the real deal. Like I said, we are ambassadors of Islam. We all know the negativities attached to Islam in the current day. We also know that Islam does NOT preach negativity, neither does it preach violence or extremism. 

It was narrated that Abu Al-Aliyah said: Ibn Abbas said: “On the morning of Al-Aqabah, while he was on his mount, the Messenger of Allah (SAW) said to me: “Pick up (some pebbles) for me.” So I picked up some pebbles for him that were the size of date stones or fingertips, and when I placed them in his hand he said: “Like these. And beware of going to extremes in religious matters, for those who came before you were destroyed because of going to extremes in religious matters.

So my question is… what are we doing about it? Are we sitting in our kitchen and sipping tea saying Allah will vindicate Islam and true Muslims some day? Or are we speaking up against the violence and radicalism? Or are we by our actions, words, and relationships showing the world the perfect religion that Islam is? In the face of adversity, no matter how bad we feel (and yes I know we feel bad because I know how bad and angry I get when people generalise about these things)…. Anyway, as I was saying, in the face of adversity, we need to stand up for what is right… teach the people around us (you’ll be surprised at how little people really know – I’m going to write a post on something that happened that me that made me realise how uneducated people are), show people around us how beautiful Islam is by embodying the religion following the teachings of the Prophet (SAW)  

May Allah guide us and have mercy on us.

Barakallahu lee wa lakum 

السَّلاَمُ عَلَيْكُمْ وَرَحْمَةُ اللهِ وَبَرَكَاتُهُ    

Further reading – http://seekershub.org/ans-blog/2011/05/30/what-is-the-meaning-of-the-hadith-ruined-are-the-extremists/

Leave a Reply

