Muslimah hurdles

My VIO saga…

Salaam alaykum warahmatullah,

That’s how I was driving on the streets of Lagos jeje oo… chewing on my minimie chin chin… only to look up and see some guy in a white uniform with black epaulette (I just learnt this word ) and yellow stripes. Hmm… please know this; the fear of VIO is the beginning of driving wisdom.

Anyway, I stopped and rolled down; feeling cool with myself (I had just gotten my vehicle license renewed).. but silly me, I forgot my expired driver’s license *covers face*. So this happened…

Officer: Can I see your vehicle license?

Me: Sure. (I handed him the papers)

Officer: Your driver driver’s license, madam.

Me: Errm… aren’t you supposed to return my papers first? You have all my originals including insurance.

Officer: I will give you madam. Just give me your license.

Me: (I realised I’d lost the battle so I gave him)

Officer: Madam, this license has expired

Me: Ah! How come? I only got it last year. (This was definitely a lie. Astaghfirllah)

Officer: You have to come with me to our station. We will check on our ‘system’ to see when the card was issued.

Me: (I knew the game was over and I didn’t want my car towed… ) OK.

Long story short, we went to their office. Of course there was no checking anything on any system. That was just a ruse. They issued me a ticket and ‘impounded’ my car. I had to go make payment at the bank (Yes… they make you go to a brick and mortar even though you can make the payment online). Then they asked me to go to another office to get ‘cleared’. Apparently they check your tax paying status! Hmm. No be small thing o.. I was walking up and down in the sun. But I’m sooo proud of myself. I didn’t cry! Yay me!!! Lol.

Spot the tan line from my suffer-head wakajugbe…

img_7112

And another thing I am most proud of – I did not for once lose my cool. I didn’t even yell. Alhamdulillah! I have definitely grown and I thank Allah for making me the woman I am today. I feel His light in me and I pray it shines across the universe. This is one of the things the hijab does for you. No matter how small your hijab (scarf) is, it keeps you in check. You are constantly reminded that you are an ambassador of Islam and you can’t afford to let Allah down.

May Allah make it easy for us to submit completely to Him and be role models for all.

Barakallahu lee wa lakum

السَّلاَمُ عَلَيْكُمْ وَرَحْمَةُ اللهِ وَبَرَكَاتُهُ

Leave a Reply

